The only question heading into the reveal of the 2017 NL Rookie of the year was whether or not Cody Bellinger would win unanimously.

Without much suspense, Los Angeles Dodgers first baseman/outfielder Cody Bellinger was named the National League Rookie of the Year on Monday night. Bellinger received all 30 first place votes for a unanimous selection. Aaron Judge of the New York Yankees won the American League award, also a unanimous selection. With Bellinger’s win, the last three NL Rookies of the Year have won unanimously.

Bellinger was the obvious choice, setting an NL rookie record with 39 home runs in only 132 games. The 22-year-old hit .267/.352/.581 and drove in 97 runs. Only Judge (52) and Mark McGwire (49) have hit more home runs as a rookie. Bellinger also hit 26 doubles and stole 10 bases for the Dodgers. His ascension to the big leagues helped spark the Dodgers to 104 wins and a trip to the World Series after a slow start to the month of April.

This win gives the Dodgers a record 18 NL Rookie of the Year awards in their illustrious franchise history. Bellinger’s teammate, Corey Seager, won the award in 2016. Bellinger joins Dodgers legends like Jackie Robinson, Mike Piazza, Fernando Valenzuela and Don Newcomb in winning the award, which is now named after Robinson.

Paul DeJong of the St. Louis Cardinals finished second after hitting .285/.325/.532 with 25 home runs and 65 RBI in over 100 fewer plate appearances than Bellinger. Pittsburgh Pirates first baseman Josh Bell finished third after setting a rookie record for home runs by a switch hitter with 26. Both might have taken home the hardware in any other year, but Bellinger was historically good.

With some shiny new decor for his man cave, Cody Bellinger can now turn his focus to beginning preparation for the 2018 season and helping to make sure the Dodgers win the final game of the season.

Source link